Deniz Tek - Mean Old Twister

Listen to selected tracks

Prison Mouse  •  Comanche
Deniz on Facebook

home   artists   news   contact   citadel mailorder


Deniz Tek is best known as a founding member of the influential Australian 70's independent rock band Radio Birdman.

Originally from Ann Arbor, Michigan, the guitarist / singer / songwriter has long been based in Australia, maintaining an active and prolific solo career as well as spearheading Radio Birdman's ongoing revival. He has also toured and recorded with many of the iconic figures of Detroit rock's greats: MC5, The Stooges, The Rationals and Sonics Rendezvous Band.

Deniz's latest solo album, the twelve track Mean Old Twister will be released by Citadel Records on September 30th 2016. This highly anticipated follow-on to 2013's acclaimed Detroit again features Deniz's vocals and signature guitar work.

Standout tracks include the straight ahead, high-powered guitar rockers; Burned Black and Prison Mouse; Comanche, a shimmering surf instrumental; the Stonesy ballad Table For One; and Free At Last, an all-acoustic diversion from the electric guitar attack.

Mean Old Twister was recorded with the same band which appeared on Detroit. Drummer Ric Parnell is best known for his work in Spinal Tap and Atomic Rooster. Bassist Bob Brown has been working with Deniz since the 1992 Australian tour supporting Deniz's first solo album Take It To The Vertical. Lending a keen ear to the process, Radio Birdman bandmate and famed producer Rob Younger stepped in to supervise the mix.

Track Listing: (36:52 m:s)
  1. Burned Black (2:20 m:s)
  2. Corner Conversation (3:51 m:s)
  3. Somewhere (3:25 m:s)
  4. Crossroads (2:14 m:s)
  5. Table For One (2:50 m:s)
  6. Comanche (3:01 m:s)
  7. Prison Mouse (3:16 m:s)
  8. New York Confidential (3:28 m:s)
  9. Cranbrook (3:49 m:s)
  10. They Can't Take That Away (2:24 m:s)
  11. Free At Last (2:37 m:s)
  12. Death By Text (3:37 m:s)

home   artists   news   contact   citadel mailorder