Stems - At First Sight Violets Are Blue

The Stems on Facebook

home   artists   news   contact   citadel mailorder

The Stems - At First Sight Violets Are Blue

To coincide with The Stem's 30th anniversary tour celebrating the release of their 1987 debut album At First Sight Violets are Blue, Citadel Records are set to reissue the long deleted title as a limited digipak 'anniversary edition' CD on November 10th 2017. The album has been digitally re-mastered and includes 3 bonus tracks. A vinyl reissue will see light of day early next year.

Originally released through Mushroom Records' White Label, the album was first pressed in mid-1987. The title track At First Sight and subsequent singles For Always and Sad Girl gained mainstream airplay. They are one of only a handful of Australian bands to crack the mainstream charts with an indie approach in the late 80's, influencing a host of new local bands to emulate their brand of garage rock and roll.

At First Sight became the band's signature track and the album is still rated as one of the best Australian guitar pop releases. In 1993 Rolling Stone Magazine included it in the top 100 Australian releases to date. The album attained gold record status in 2007.
  1. At First Sight (D.Mariani)
  2. Sad Girl (D.Mariani)
  3. Rosebud (R.Lane / J.Matthews)
  4. Man With the Golden Heart (D.Mariani)
  5. Running Around (D.Mariani)
  6. For Always (D.Mariani)
  7. You Can't Turn the Clock Back (R.Lane / D.Mariani)
  8. Move Me (D.Mariani / J.Matthews)
  9. Mr Misery (D.Mariani)
  10. Can't Forget That Girl (D.Mariani)
  11. Never be Friends (D.Mariani / J.Matthews)
  12. The Otherside (R Lane)
  13. Gooviest Girl in Town (D.Mariani / J.Matthews) (b-side)
  14. My Beach (D.Shaw / D.Mariani / J.Matthews) (b-side)
  15. Sad Girl (D.Mariani) (single remix)

home   artists   news   contact   citadel mailorder